Harold L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship

SALSAL supports wound care certification.

The Harold L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship is for health care providers who need financial support to earn wound certification through the American Board of Wound Management (ABWM), as a Certified Wound Case Associate (CWCA®), Certified Wound Specialist (CWS®) or Certified Wound Specialist Physician (CWSP®)

“I promised Harold I wouldn’t forget him. I pledged a scholarship would be created in his name.”

– Dr. Desmond Bell

Established by SALSAL and ABWM in 2018, ten certification exam scholarships are available each year, and the applications are reviewed by the ABWM Foundation Board of Trustees during their board meetings. A total of seven scholarships have been awarded since the program was established.

Harold L. Johnson was a Vietnam Veteran who suffered from post-traumatic stress disorder as a result of his military service. For many years, Harold served The Save A Leg, Save A Life Foundation, working with fellow amputees, and discussing on local radio his own battle with diabetes and peripheral arterial disease.

ABWM states candidates for this scholarship must demonstrate the highest character and the desire to serve others through a history of volunteerism. Preference will be given to those who have served honorably in the Armed Forces.

For additional information about The Harold L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship including eligibility and application process visit www.abwmfoundation.org .

Past scholarship recipients

Kristen Shugart, LPN


Nicole Barr, RN


Ezell Wilson, RN


Amanda Killeen, DPM


Carl Mico Natividad, PT, CLT


Diana Starks, RN, CHRN


Charles Spencer, DPT